Group work

What does it mean to manage/regulate yourself (self-regulate) and others? How does it bring you towards goals? How important is communication in this process and what helps/impedes it?

Discipline is the key for anything you want to accomplish. It is even more vital with online classes, where you don’t have a set time to do your work. As an online student I need to set a personal schedule that can match the class schedule, so I don’t miss deadlines.

Working in group on an online setting is very complicated. We don’t see each other, we don’t know each other schedule, and it is hard to set a time when everyone can be virtually together. I had one bad experience on LTEC 3440, where my partner was always late doing his part. I had to do the last part of the project by myself, or I would miss the deadline.

Communication is very important on a face to face class as well as on an online. I guess even more important online. I need to be very careful to what I say, so there are not any misunderstandings or I don’t get my partner/group offended.

I like to work in group, but I think it is almost impossible on an online setting. Some students are way ahead of schedule and some are way behind, and it is hard to get a compromise to help the group.

We have an excellent group in this class, because we attendance was good on the online meetings, and everyone was very helpful to each other.

Leave a Reply

